South America

Area: 17,840,000 km2 (4th) Population: 420,458,044 (2016; 5th) Countries: 12 Languages: 448

A South America is a continent in the Western Hemisphere, mostly in the Southern Hemisphere, with a relatively small portion in the Northern Hemisphere. It may also be considered a subcontinent of the Americas,[5][ which is how it is viewed in the Spanish and Portuguese-speaking regions of the Americas. South America has an area of 17,840,000 square kilometers (6,890,000 sq mi). Its population as of 2016 has been estimated at more than 420 million.[1] South America ranks fourth in area (after Asia, Africa, and North America) and fifth in population (after Asia, Africa, Europe, and North America). It is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean; North America and the Caribbean Sea lie to the northwest. The total number of independent states in South America is 12, at least 720 tribes live throughout the continent.

Human Rights
  • Argentina (+ Las Malvinas)
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela